Summer Reading: A Father First: How My Life Became Bigger Than Basketball

(Photo: Miami Herald)

Through the spring months of 2013, my book of choice was Michael Vicks Finally Free. For the summer, or at least the beginning of it, my sports book of choice belongs to Dwayne Wade. 

In Dwayne Wades book A Father First: How My Life Became Bigger Than Basketball, the Miami Heat star chronicles his relationship with his father growing up as a kid on the south side of Chicago and discusses his relationship with his own kids. The book goes into detail about his long and public custody battle between he and his ex-wife over who gets custody of his kids. The book also includes a few memories from the hard court.

What inspired me to pick this book up was a special that I watched on ESPN SportsCenter about Dwayne’s story. They interviewed him about the year long court dispute as well as a few other things that are in his book.

As of right now, I’ve just read the prologue and I’m already excited to see what comes next. I’ll be sure to post a follow up article with my thoughts and feelings on the book when I’m finished. Pick up your copy and you can discuss it with me when we’re done!

What’s your summer reading book? Leave your answer in a comment below. I’m always looking for more books to read! 

Leave a comment